The North American Society for Bat Research bestows several awards for outstanding service, scholarly contributions, conservation and education.  

Gerrit S. Miller Award

This award is presented occasionally at the annual North American Symposium on Bat Research to persons in recognition of outstanding service and contribution to the field of chiropteran biology. The award is named after Gerrit S. Miller, Jr., an outstanding early 20th Century bat biologist at the Smithsonian Institution. Miller's work on the evolutionary relationships of chiropteran families and genera to one another still strongly influences taxonomic thinking about bats today.

Nomination Process:  The Gerrit S. Miller Jr. Award winner is chosen by the Miller Committee which consists of all the surviving Miller award recipients. The Miller Committee chooses one of its members to act as the Secretary of the Committee, currently Mark Brigham. Each year, before the annual NASBR meeting, the Secretary of the Miller Committee contacts each member and solicits nominations. Any member of NASBR may nominate a worthy candidate by working with one of the members of the Miller Committee who will then communicate the nomination to the secretary. The committee members send a vote for their choice to the Secretary, who tabulates the results and informs all committee members. In the event that there is not clear winner, committee members are asked to reconsider their vote (including a vote for no award). If this does not lead to a clear winner, the secretary will consult via telephone and discuss whether there can be a resolution. The Miller Committee is not committed to making an award every year, and on average selects an awardee about once every two years. It has been tradition to hold the awardee name in confidence (when possible) until the award is presented at the meeting. The presentation of the award is made at our annual awards ceremony. The new Gerrit S. Miller, Jr. Fellow then becomes a member of the Miller Committee.

Lifetime Member Award

Lifetime membership in the NASBR is conferred in recognition of a long and distinguished career in bat research or education about bats.

Nomination Process:  Nominations of individuals for lifetime membership in the NASBR are made by a member of the Society to the Board of Directors, who then discuss and vote on the nomination (at least a 75 per cent vote is necessary). In addition to continuing all the benefits of regular membership, lifetime members do not need to pay a registration fee to attend the annual NASBR meeting.

G. Roy Horst Award

Established in 2014, The G. Roy Horst Award for distinguished service to the North American Society for Bat Research recognizes and celebrates exemplary service to the society. The Distinguished Service Award, or G. Roy Horst Award, is given for significant and consistent contributions to the Society. This NASBR award is named in honor of G. Roy Horst, the sole Program Director and meeting organizer for the first 25 years of the society. Roy convened the First Southwestern Symposium on Bat Research in Tucson Arizona in 1970. The annual bat meeting’s name was changed in San Diego, 1972, to the North American Symposium on Bat Research. Roy retired as Program Director after NASBR 25, Boston, but came back as a Program Director for NASBR 38 and 39, while NASBR was reorganizing and rewriting its constitution to become an official society. The North American Symposium on Bat Research became the North American Society for Bat Research in 2010. Nominations for this award should be submitted to the Chair of the NASBR Board.

Spallanzani Award

The Spallanzani Award assists distinguished bat researchers from outside North America to attend the North American Symposium on Bat Research. Lazzaro Spallanzani (1729 -1799) was an Italian biologist and physiologist who made important contributions to the experimental study of anatomy and physiology, animal reproduction, and was instrumental in discovering the mechanism of animal echolocation. Spallanzani is famous for extensive experiments on bat navigation in complete darkness. He concluded that bats use sound and their ears for navigation.  Spallanzani investigated each individual sense, trying to discover which governed bat navigation. Through the process of elimination, he found that plugging a bat's ears rendered it directionless. Spallanzani's hypothesis of echolocation ability of bats wasn't fully explained for well over a century when in 1941, when Donald R. Griffin first described bat's sensitivity to sound waves.

Nomination Process: A Spallanzani Selection Committee of three to six NASBR members receive nominations, screen candidates, and select Spallanzani Fellows. The Committee selects one to two fellows per year based on available funding.

Spallanzani Fellowships may be awarded: 1) As Senior Fellows for recognition of a career of distinction in research, education or conservation biology of bats that has contributed to the development of these activities in their country. 2) As Fellows to persons of any age or career stage that show meritorious recent accomplishments that promote bat research, education, and/or conservation programs in their country.

Nominations may be submitted to the Spallanzani Selection Committee by any NASBR member. Call for nominations are typically made in the Spring of each year (see email announcement for actual deadline). For more information please contact the Spallanzani Award Chair.
Spallanzani Nomination Guidelines

Bernardo Villa Award

This Villa award is bestowed upon a Latin American student who is doing outstanding research, and provides for resources to attend the NASBR meeting and present their findings.  Travel, lodging, banquet, and registration are covered by the award. 

Nomination Process:  To be eligible, applicants must be a Latin American student currently enrolled graduate or undergraduate students in a Mexican university, or must have graduated during the past year (i.e. since the end of the most recent NASBR meeting) from a Mexican university. The student's research may be anywhere in Latin America or the Caribbean, however priority will be given to those with research emphasis and application in Mexico. Contact the Villa Committee Chair to apply.

Student Presentation Awards

At the annual conference, NASBR provides nine student awards for best oral and poster presentations in various categories.  These awards are provided through generous contributions of our longtime award sponsors. Students should check eligibility and apply by indicating interest during the abstract submission process.

NASBR is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization | © 2019 NASBR

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software